Our Team

We are a team of people whose joint mission it is to
create change in the world of performance.

Fourth Monkey is very much a family. Our dedicated staff work closely with some of the UK’s finest drama practitioners, students and theatre-makers, to create a truly unique working environment where individual creative expression is valued and nurtured.

The organisation is led by our CEO, Executive and Artistic Director, Steve Green. As well as taking overall responsibility for the strategic direction, financial management and governance of the organisation, Steve also directs the Fourth Monkey Ensemble.

The training department is led by the Director of Training and Deputy CEO, Charleen Qwaye. This team delivers four full-time courses, at undergraduate, postgraduate and foundation level, as well as a programme of short courses. 

Our Staff


Artistic Leadership

Artistic Director
Steve Green


Director of Training & Head of Acting and Courses
Charleen Qwaye


Heads of Course

Head of BA(Hons) Acting & MA Collaborative Theatre


Head of Year of the Monkey
Louise McMenemy


Head of Two Year Rep
Poppy Rowley 


Heads of Department

Head of Voice
Harriet Whitbread


Head of Movement
Charleen Qwaye


Head of Acting


Head of Devising
Guillaume Pigé


Artistic Associate

Creative Associate
Simone Coxall


Monkey Business

Development Manager
Neil Onions


Academic Development Manager
Jonathan Maydew-Gale


Marketing & Communications Manager
Hetty Partington


Building Coordinator
Jonne Damhuis


Tanja Raaste

Thinking about actor training?


Click the button below to learn more about our different training programmes

Course Tutors

Darren Strange, Brigid Zengeni, Jorge De Juan, Simone Coxall, Arthur Wilson, Lewis Hart, Ian Henderson, Paula Paz, Shane Dempsey, Heather Nimmo, Lawrence Evans, Ewa Kolodzieska, Patrick Bailey, Anne Dennis, Ellen Havard, Ellie Jones and Poppy Rowley

Acting for Camera & Radio
Steven Green, Jorge De Juan, Darren Strange, Maggie Zolinsky, Louise McMenemy, Ian Williams, Chris Pavlo, Colleen Pendergast, Harry Myers and Nathaniel Tapley

Frank Wurzinger, Amy Gwilliam

Commedia dell’Arte
Antonio Fava, Cheryl Stapleton

Contextual Studies
Tamsin Stanley

Donna Diamond, Nicky Goh, Ivana Ostrowski and Maria Clarke

Devising Theatre
Simone Coxall, Anne Dennis, Guillaume Pigé, Sarah Meadows, Rich Rusk and Finn Morrell

Guillaume Pigé, Magda Tuka, Ramon Ayres, Eyglo Belafonte, Angela Gasparetto, Nancy Kettle, Igne Barkauskaite, Jonathan Gunning and Parke Fech

Musical Director
Simon Egerton

Tom Espiner & Fiona Clift

Helen Ireland

Stage Combat
Rob Leonard, Keith Wallis, Enric Ortuño and Joe Golby

Textual Analysis
Ken Pickering and Mark Woolgar

Harriet Whitbread, Joel Trill, Nancy Wigglesworth, Emma Wainer, Alice White, Aundrea Fudge, Nick Trumble, Kit Lessner, Izo FitzRoy, Cassandra Gonzales, David Brown, Rebecca Whitbread and Lucy Atkinson

Magda Tuka and Hannah Vincent

Associates and Partners

Arts Council England, Complicité, Told by an Idiot, Theatre Re, Ephemeral Ensemble, Rhum & Clay, Clay & Diamonds, Shunt, Small Nose Productions, Temper Theatre, 6FootStories, Camden Fringe, The Marlowe Theatre, The Marlowe Society, The Cervantes Theatre, The Spanish Theatre Company, Blind Summit, Falmouth University, The Stage, TheSpaceUK, Visual Elements, Hawthorne and Halo

Our Patrons

Fourth Monkey are delighted to announce that we have welcomed several new patrons into our collaborative community of staff, students and supporters. They represent theatre professionals who work across acting, directing and dramaturgy, onstage, in film and beyond:

Brigid Zengeni | Danielle Kassaraté | Guillaume Pigé | Jonjo O’Neill | Jorge de Juan | Paula Paz | Sophia Khan

Interested in joining our team?